9:43 a.m. 2006-01-28
The Bitch says: Job

Apparently even though I passed the test for the job with flying colors, the state refuses to hire me because I have "Insufficient Experience".

The thing is, the prison can't keep workers.. And only 10 out of every 100 people who pass the test, actually apply for a job and only 4 out of every 40 people who take it pass.... They have over 300 positions that need to be filled right now and the number keeps going up because, as I said, they can't keep workers. They're so low on workers that on Dorms that are supposed to have 3 CO's, only have 1.... You'd think that they'd be willing to hire someone like me, who may not have as much experience as is usually required, but who is actually willing to take the goddamn job. Unlike most people... It's low pay, compared to other prisions not only in the State but in the U.S., the benifits suck and the working conditions are horrible.... You have to be at least 18 years of age and have one year of work experience... If the year of experience is going to be a requirement, they should raise the age limit... Because a lot of people, at the age of 18, don't have a year of work experience.... I was in school, that's why I don't have a year in... Doesn't school count for anything? In my opinion, school IS work... You just don't get paid for it, instead YOU pay for it.

Oh well, I've found another job that I'll apply for.

And I can get a car if I can come up with $1000 to put down on it... And the only way that I'm going to be able to do that now is if my mother helps me. Yeah, right.

kiss | this